Hanging Garden - The Garden - LP


PRICE: 21.00 EUR OR 23.00 USD

Format: 12"LP (marble)
Genre: Gothic/Doom/Death Metal
Country: Finland
Release date: 2023
Label: Agonia Records

Limited to 250 copies marble LP.

HANGING GARDEN formed in 2004, starting out as a heavy, doom-oriented project. Roughly two decades, seven albums and a couple of line-up shuffles later, the band shifted to a more melodic, contemporary sound, surrounded by a veil of melancholy.

The compositions are dark, atmospheric & emotional, and concomitantly lean towards open-minded and playful musicality. While entrenched in metal's doom, gothic and melodeath branches, HANGING GARDEN displays a versatile, many-layered style of playing, packs female & male vocals, and draws influence & inspiration from music and art, far and wide.

The new album - "The Garden" - dives deep into atmospheres both "tender and harsh, devilish and serene" and "embarks upon a journey to mankind's spiritual roots, contemplating the fragility of our technological society" - as poetically described by the band. "There is a kind of energy in the songs that there wasn?t before," introspects Toni Hatakka of HANGING GARDEN. "A feel of hope to contrast our old friend the despair, a strong notion of action against the familiar melancholy, or maybe a light amidst the comfortable gloom."

"The Garden", the follow-up to "Skeleton Lake" (2021), was produced by Jussi Hämäläinen (vocals, guitars) and Jarno Hänninen. The album was mixed and mastered by the latter at D-studio (Beherit, Shape of Despair). Cover artwork and new band photos are by Finnish artist Kalle Pyyhtinen. "The Garden" marks the return of new-old drummer Antti Ruokola, last seen in HANGING GARDEN seven years ago.

HANGING GARDEN may appeal to fans of Swallow the Sun, Ghost Brigade, October Tide, Katatonia and Type 0 Negative.

1. The Garden
2. The Four Winds
3. The Construct
4. The Song of Spring
5. The Fire at First Dawn
6. The Nightfall
7. The Stolen Fire
8. The Journey
9. The Derelict Bay
10. The Fireside
11. The Resolute

© AGONIA RECORDS. All rights reserved.

Dear Customer,

Your privacy is important to us, which is why we want to inform you about our updated privacy notice here and regulations which you can find here. If you agree with our terms and policy, please,